Press "Enter" to skip to content

Posts published in “Day: August 8, 2017”

Texas Sales Tax Holiday is Aug. 11-13

(AUSTIN) — Texas Comptroller Glenn Hegar reminds shoppers they can save money on certain items during the state’s annual sales tax holiday. This year, the sales tax holiday is scheduled for Friday, Saturday and Sunday, Aug. 11-13.

The law exempts most clothing, footwear, school supplies and backpacks priced below $100 from sales tax, saving shoppers about $8 on every $100 they spend during the weekend.

“Most folks won’t hear the back-to-school bell for another month, but it’s never too early to take advantage of the opportunity to save money on everything from ball caps to ballpoint pens,” Hegar said. “As the father of three young children, I know how these expenses can add up.”

Lists of apparel and school supplies that may be purchased tax-free can be found on the Comptroller’s website at TexasTaxHoliday.org.

This year, shoppers will save an estimated $87 million in state and local sales taxes during the sales tax holiday.

Texas’ tax holiday weekend has been an annual event since 1999.

Campus Carry law in effect at Lone Star College

HOUSTON (July 31, 2017) – Senate Bill 11, commonly referred to as the campus carry law, takes effect at Lone Star College Tuesday, Aug. 1. The law relates to the carrying of handguns on the campuses of institutions of higher education and certain other locations associated with the institutions.

“Lone Star College began last year gathering input from students, faculty, staff and members of the community on how best to implement this law,” said Stephen C. Head, Ph.D., LSC chancellor. “Members of the LSC Campus Carry Task Force collected the feedback and developed a proposed set of guidelines that were then approved by the LSC Board of Trustees.

“We remain committed to providing a safe environment for all of the Lone Star College community,” said Head.

Senate Bill 11authorizes a license holder to carry a concealed handgun on or about the license holder’s person while the license holder is on the campus of an institution of higher education or private or independent institution of higher education.

The law also permits the president or other chief executive officer of an institution of higher education to establish reasonable rules, regulations, or other provisions regarding the carrying of concealed handguns by license holders on the campus or on specific premises located on the campus.

“Senate Bill 11 when into effect at four-year universities in August 2016 which allowed two-year institutions the opportunity to observe best practices on implementing the law,” said Head.

The law allows the posting of a sign under Penal Code Section 30.06 with respect to any portion of premises on which license holders may not carry.

Visit LoneStar.edu/CampusCarry for more information, including a video, Frequently Asked Questions and list of exclusionary zones for each LSC location.