Seven Aldine ISD schools receive Title I Distinguished School’ honor from TEA

Seven Aldine ISD schools recently received “Title I Distinguished School” designation from the Texas Education Agency due to their consistently strong academic performances while educating large populations of impoverished students during the three previous school years.

The seven receiving “Distinguished” designation were: Anderson Academy, Hambrick Middle School, Mendel Elementary, Oleson Elementary, Stephens Elementary, Teague Middle School and Worsham Elementary. Additionally, Reed Academy received “Honored” designation and Stovall Middle School received “Commended” designation.

To qualify for the designation, the schools must be Title I campuses, have earned an Exemplary rating from the TEA during the 2000-2001 school year (the highest accountability rating a school can receive), and earned either an Exemplary or Recognized rating during the two previous school years.

Title I is a federal program under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) that provides school districts with additional resources to help improve instruction in high-poverty schools and ensure that poor and minority children have the same opportunity as other children to meet challenging state academic standards.

”These “Distinguished Schools” have a lot to be proud of,” said Commissioner of Education Jim Nelson. “These “Distinguished Schools” have debunked the long-standing myth that only certain student populations can be taught. They’ve excelled at educating all children, regardless of economic circumstance.”