Hall, Jackson named Aldine ISD’s top educators

Aldine ISD names Educators of the Year

Chris Hall was named Aldine ISD’s Elementary/Intermediate Teacher of the Year, while Debbie Jackson was named the district’s Secondary Teacher of the Year during Aldine ISD’s annual Teacher of the Year Breakfast, held Thursday, March 28 at the Hyatt Regency Houston Airport Hotel.

Hall and Jackson were two of the six finalists for the award from a field of 58 campus teachers of the year. The four other finalists were Connie Reimer-Cobb of Orange Grove Elementary, Linda A. Toner of Wilson Intermediate, H.P. Hyder III of Drew Academy and Dorita Edwards of Shotwell Middle School.

Hall is a fifth-grade math teacher at Bethune Academy, while Jackson is a physical education/wellness instructor and the head varsity girls’ basketball coach at Nimitz High School.

Aldine ISD Superintendent Nadine Kujawa congratulated and thanked Hall and Jackson, along with the 56 other campus teachers of the year, for devoting their lives to teaching young people.

“The ability to teach is a gift,” she said. “We are so glad you have chosen to teach our children. You share your gift with the children in Aldine on a daily basis. You do make a difference.”

Kujawa also thanked the district’s business partners who donated gifts and prizes to the winners, the finalists and the 52 other campus teachers of the year.

“We want to thank our business partners for their generosity in honoring our teachers. You (business partners) are so much a part of our community and we appreciate you so much,” she said.

Hall and Jackson were each awarded two first class, roundtrip tickets from Continental Airlines to anywhere Continental flies in the continental United States. Jim “Mattress Mac” McIngvale and Gallery Furniture awarded Hall and Jackson each a $1,000 gift certificate and the four finalists were each awarded $500 gift certificates to Gallery Furniture. Halliburton presented Hall and Jackson with $500 each to pay for their lodging on their trip and Sheraton Hotels provided discount rates at any of their properties should they stay at one of their hotels or resorts on their trip. Greenspoint Mall awarded the two winners with tickets to a Houston Astros game in the club level and $50 gift certificates. The Mall also provided Astros tickets to the four finalists and $25 gift certificates.

The 52 campus Teachers of the Year received a candle assortment from the Mall. Saltgrass Steakhouse on I-45 provided Hall and Jackson with $100 gift certificates, dinner for two gift certificates for the four finalists and 58 coupons for appetizers for all of the campus Teachers of the Year. The Greenspoint Club presented Hall and Jackson with a free 30-day membership and awarded the four finalists a 30-minute massage.

Additionally, the Hyatt Regency Airport Hotel provided a gift certificate for a weekend getaway for two at the Hyatt Regency in Tampa (three days and two nights), which was part of a drawing among the 52 campus Teachers of the Year. A drawing was also held for a dinner for two at Oakley’s at the Hyatt, a weekend night (Friday or Saturday) of lodging at the Holiday Inn Houston

Intercontinental Hotel, a deluxe room on Friday or Saturday night at the Wyndham Greenspoint Hotel, and a gift certificate for dinner for two at the Baytree Bistro at the Wyndham.

The 52 other campus Teachers of the Year were: Rosalyn Sweat of Aldine Middle School, Jimmie Roberson of Aldine Ninth Grade School, Marion Crosby of Aldine Senior High School, Jerry Thompson of the Alternative Education Placement Center, Patricia Ross of Anderson Academy, Scott Dubberke of Black Elementary, Argie Faye Gladney of Calvert Elementary, Mark Malo of Caraway Intermediate, Mary Hernandez of Carmichael Elementary, Brian White of Carroll Academy, Darby Albers of Carter Academy, Joan Maresh of Carver High School, Verlinda Yvette Phillips of Conley Elementary, Michele McBride of de Santiago EC/PK Center, Tami Schuler of Dunn Elementary, Beverly Street of Eckert Intermediate, Cynthia Jefferson Wade of Eisenhower Ninth Grade School, Eric Coleman of Eisenhower Senior High School, Alysha Bannick of Ermel Elementary, Cathy Shepeard of Escamilla Intermediate, Phyllis J. Woods of Francis Elementary, Kathy Kelly of Goodman Elementary, John Johnson of Grantham Academy and Monica Cortez of Gray Elementary.

Other campus Teachers of the Year were: Julie Macklin of Hambrick Middle School, Freda Taylor of Harris Academy, Nicole Walters of Hinojosa EC/PK Center, Jamale Kempt of Hoffman Middle School, Maria Dolores Reta of Johnson Elementary, Marianne Ekland of Keeble EC/PK Center, Miyoshi Hampton-Arvie of Lane School, Jose Almendarez of MacArthur Ninth Grade School, Herbert E. “Spike” Harlan of MacArthur Senior High School, Genevieve Orr of Magrill Elementary, Carolyn McGuire of Mendel Elementary, Lorry Hainsworth of Nimitz Ninth Grade School, Grace Leal of Odom Elementary, Christine Fredonia Johnson of Oleson Elementary, Ashley Michelle Pryor of Parker Intermediate, Delilah St. Julian of Raymond Academy, Hilda Elma Zapata of Reece Academy, Isabel Brigman of Reed Academy, Dawn Oliver of Sammons Elementary, Tabitha Preston of Smith Academy, Sandra Patino of Stehlik Intermediate, Kimberly Verzwyvelt of Stephens Elementary, Katrina Maria Miguez of Stovall Middle School, Katherine Ann Thompson of Stovall Academy, Gordon Reese of Teague Middle School, Rosetta Simpson of Thompson Elementary, Susan Cuculic of Vines EC/PK Center and Ellen Flores of Worsham Elementary.

Linda Scott, program director of elementary science and cooperative learning, served as chairperson of the Teacher of the Year Selection Committee. She was joined on the committee by Peggy Hebert, Ron Venable, Mary Richardson, Bobby Heathcock, Jan Seleck, Kathy Cramer and Carrie Durley.