Press "Enter" to skip to content

Aldine ISD selects Teachers of the Year

Aldine ISD’s Teachers of the Year (TOY) and TOY finalists, along with the district’s Principals of the Year
pose with Aldine ISD Superintendent Dr. Wanda Bamberg, Aldine ISD Trustees Steve Mead, Rose Avalos,
Connie Esparza and Dr. Viola M. Garcia and members of the Aldine Education Foundation Board following
the district’s annual Teacher of the Year Breakfast, held Friday, March 9 at the Hyatt Regency North Houston Hotel. Seated are (l-r): TOY finalist Mario Romero, AISD Secondary Teacher of the Year Chelsea DavisBibb, AISD’s Secondary Principal of the Year Dr. Crystal Watson, AISD’s Elementary/Intermediate Principal of the Year Scott Dubberke, AISD’s Elementary/Intermediate Teacher of the Year Lynette O’Neal, TOY finalist Elisa De La Rosa, TOY finalist Allison Hamacher and TOY finalist Elizabeth Woodson.

Lynette O’Neal was named Aldine ISD’s Elementary/Intermediate Teacher of the Year and Chelsea Davis-Bibb was named the district’s Secondary Teacher of the Year during Aldine ISD’s Teacher of the Year Breakfast, held Friday, March 9 at the Hyatt Regency North Houston Hotel. In addition, the district’s Principal’s of the Year were also announced at the breakfast. Scott Dubberke of Gray Elementary School was named the Elementary/Intermediate Principal of the Year and Dr. Crystal Watson was named the Secondary Principal of the Year.

The other four Teacher of the Year finalists were Elizabeth Woodson of Kujawa Elementary School, Mario Romero of Stehlik Intermediate School, Allison Hamacher of Drew Academy and Elisa De La Rosa of MacArthur Ninth Grade School. O’Neal said she strives to motivate her students to reach their full potential as learners. “Every student needs to achieve a measure of success to keep them motivated during the learning process,” she said. “My role is to evaluate the needs of each student, keep them energized, facilitate their learning, provide them with what they need and equip and empower them to take ownership of their learning and its outcomes.” Davis-Bibb said she tailors her teaching to reach each and every student she comes in contact with on a daily basis. “One of the leading principles that guides my career as a teacher is that all students can learn,” she said. “With this principle in mind, I base my instruction on the needs of my students. I believe that students learn through experience. Therefore, my delivery of teaching is through a lot of group work and collaborative learning.”

All Teachers of the Year received cash prizes from Aldine Education Foundation supported by donations from Presenting Sponsor H-E-B Tournament of Champions; Platinum Sponsor WCA Waste Corporation of Texas; Gold Sponsors Caldwell Companies and The Edu-Source Corporation; Silver Sponsors CenterPoint Energy, DivisionOne Construction, Huitt-Zollars, Inc., and McDonald’s; and Campus Sponsors BakerRipley, Edgenuity, Inc., Jones/ Carter, Jostens, Kurz & Co., PBK Architects, Tandus Centiva, TCG Group, and Edward Vines.

Additionally, winning Teachers of the Year each received two first-class round-trip tickets from United Airlines. The four Finalists each also received $25 gift cards from Dahill. All Teachers of the Year received gift bags from Academy Sports + Outdoors which included mugs, pencils, and lunch bags from East Aldine District, car sun visors from InvesTex Credit Union, three-year planners from Jostens, pens from North Houston District, calendars and lunch bags from Magoo’s Print Shop, and shirts from Aldine Education Foundation.

Door prizes were donated by Dahill, DoubleTree Houston Intercontinental Airport, Houston Astros, Houston Rockets, and Hyatt Regency North Houston.

Prior to the announcement of the district Teachers of the Year, AEF President Bill Ginder provided an overview of AEF, introduced the AEF Board and thanked the sponsors who made donations.

Dr. Keena Bradley, the district’s director of auxiliary staffing, served as chairperson of the Teacher of the Year Committee. The committee consisted of Dr. David Villareal and Mark Mitchell of the Human Resources Department, AEF Board Member Jeff Hartmann, 2016-17 Elementary/Intermediate Teacher of the Year Mariangela Garcia, 2016-17 Secondary Teacher of the Year Lester Morrow, Eun Sung Kim of Carter Academy, Kendra Jacobsen of Hill Intermediate School, Crachelle Gates of Cypresswood Elementary School and Emily Bartley of Aldine High School.

Dr. Linda Rodriguez and Dr. Todd Davis introduced the Principals of the Year. The Principal of the Year Committee consisted of Dr. Tamika AlfordStephens, Assistant Superintendent of Finance, Dawn Ayers Rodriguez, Executive Director of Assessment, Accountability and School Improvement, Sherrie Batro of the Human Resources Department, Ben Ibarra, Principal of Blanson Career & Technology High School, Deborah Johnson, Program Director of Secondary Social Studies, Christine Kujawa, Multilingual Program Specialist, Sandra Mader, Director of Athletic Services, Stacey Smith, Program Director of Resource Development and an AEF Board Member and Efrain Uribe, Program Director of Elementary/Intermediate Counseling & At-Risk Students.

Aldine ISD Superintendent Dr. Wanda Bamberg provided closing remarks. She lauded and thanked the teachers in the audience for choosing to share their knowledge and talents with Aldine ISD’s students.

“It is exciting to see our educators do outstanding work with our students,” she said. “You all are a tribute and credit to this profession. I’ve watched this event grow over the years. It has evolved into a wonderful event to honor our wonderful teachers.”

She also thanked AEF and sponsors who supported the breakfast and donated prizes.

Prior to and during breakfast, the MacArthur Jazz Ensemble, under the direction of Jose Diaz, provided the entertainment.