140 million votes nationwide, Biden wins

HARRIS COUNTY – Voters went to the polls in record numbers for both early voting, and election day votes. In the county over 1,610,000 votes were recorded, and in the nation over 140,000,000 votes were cast.

Unofficial results have now been tabulated with Joe Biden winning 280 seats in the Electoral College. Donald Trump has filed lawsuits challenging the results.

In Harris County, Biden received 56% of the vote, or 911,913 while Trump received 43% or 699,771 votes. However, statewide in Texas Trump had the lead, as did most Republicans seeking office.

For Texas Senator, John Cornyn was reelected over Democratic challenger M.J. Hegar.

Incumbent U.S. Representatives Sheila Jackson Lee was returned with 73% of the votes, and Sylvia Garcia with 71%.

For state office, Carol Alvarado was reelected for State Senate in District 6, and State Representatives reelected included Armando Walle, Senfronia Thompson, and Ana Hernandez, all running unopposed.

In a strongly contested race for District Attorney, Kim Ogg retained her seat with 54% of the vote, against challenger Mary Nan Huffman.

For Harris County Attorney, Christian Dashaun Menefee defeated John Nation with 55% of the vote in his favor. Menefee is the first minority race HC Attorney. He replaces the retiring Vince Ryan.

For Harris County Sheriff, the popular incumbent Ed Gonzalez defeated Joe Danna. Gonzalez had 57% of the vote, Danna 43%.

Two races had candidates trying to regain their old positions. For Tax Assessor-Collector, Ann Harris Bennett defeated the previous office holder Chris Daniel, with 53% of the vote. For County Clerk, Teneshia Hudspeth had 54% against previous clerk Stan Stanart.

Harris County had an important race for County Commissioner. With incumbent commissioner Steve Radack retiring, the voters in Precinct 5 sent another Republican to the panel. Tom Ramsey was elected with 52% of the vote, versus Michael Moore with 47%.

Two Constable races were followed with great interest. In Precinct 2, Jerry Garcia had defeated incumbent Chris Diaz in the primary, and in the general election he won over the Republican challenger Daniel Vela with 61.6% of the vote. Garcia had 51,333 votes, Vela had 32,103 votes.

In Constable district Precinct 3, popular incumbent Sherman Eagleton was challenged by Andre Hines. Eaglewon got 60% of the vote, or 72,429 ballots, versus Hines 48,064 or 40%.