Press "Enter" to skip to content

Dr. Bamberg Region 4 Superintendent Of the Year

During the June 13 Aldine ISD Trustees meeting, President Rose Avalos announced that Dr. Wanda Bamberg had been named the Region 4 Superintendent of the Year.
Aldine ISD’s Trustees nominated Dr. Bamberg for this prestigious award.
Dr. Bamberg competed against other superintendents from throughout Region 4, which includes 54 schools districts from the greater Houston area.
All of the superintendents who were nominated had to submit applications that focused on a number of areas including administration and school climate, school board-superintendent relations, school improvement, fiscal management, facilities management, instructional management, student management, personnel management, and school-community relations.
“Our board of trustees nominated Wanda knowing confidently that she would be an excellent choice due to her reputation not only in the Houston area but around the state,” said Aldine ISD Trustee President Rose Avalos. “She leads a large and successful school district through collaborative decisions that are best for the children of Aldine. She is willing to make those difficult decisions when it comes to the best interest of Aldine students and employees. We are very proud of her selection and are confident that she will be successful at the state level of competition.”
By being named Region 4’s Superintendent of the Year, Dr. Bamberg is now in line to compete for Superintendent of the Year of the State of Texas. The overall state winner will be announced at the Texas Association of School
Administrators (TASA)/Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) annual convention, scheduled Sept. 30-Oct. 2, at the Austin Convention Center. The announcement will be made during the Second General Session, set for Saturday, Oct. 1 at 10:30 a.m.
Dr. Bamberg is currently serving her fourth year as superintendent and will enter her fifth year as superintendent when the 2011-12 school year begins on Aug. 22.
Dr. Bamberg is the third Aldine ISD superintendent to be named Region 4 Superintendent of the Year. Former Superintendent Nadine Kujawa earned the honor in 2006 and former Superintendent M.B. “Sonny” Donaldson earned the honor in 1994 and 1995.