Saldivar named president of Lone Star College System board


HOUSTON (Dec. 11, 2020) – The Lone Star College System Board of Trustees selected Myriam Saldívar to serve as chair of the board at its Dec. 10 workshop and regular meeting. Saldívar represents District 6 in the Lone Star College System.

“I would like to thank my fellow board members for the honor of serving as board chair,” said Saldívar. “I look forward to working with Dr. Head and my colleagues to ensure our students continue to have access to educational opportunities that keep our community strong and healthy.”

Other officer positions appointed by the board were Michael Stoma, vice chair (District 1); Iesheia Ayers-Wilson, secretary (District 3); and Mike Sullivan, assistant secretary (District 8).

“I am grateful to all the trustees for the work they do each and every day,” said Stephen C. Head, Ph.D., LSC chancellor. “Their dedication to student success is truly inspiring.”

Board members are elected as representatives of nine single-member districts by citizens in the Lone Star College in-district service area in November of even-numbered years and serve terms of six years each.

“I look forward to working with the board members to ensure our community continues to have access to affordable, high quality higher education,” said Head.

LSC trustees serve staggered terms – three of nine trustees come up for election every two years – so that there are always experienced members sitting on the board.

Lone Star College offers high-quality, low-cost academic transfer and career training education to 93,000+ students each semester. LSC is training tomorrow’s workforce today and redefining the community college experience to support student success. Stephen C. Head, Ph.D., serves as chancellor of LSC, the largest institution of higher education in the Houston area with an annual economic impact of nearly $3 billion. LSC consists of seven colleges, 10 centers, two university centers, Lone Star Corporate College and LSC-Online.