Raymond Academy receives top magnet school awards

Ray Miller of the Eyes of Texas about horses in the state at the Northeast Harris County Community Center on April 24. Pictured with Mr. Miller, left to right are Norman Raif, Olga Antley, Kay Rayburn, center director, Mildred Touchet, Mary White, and Cora Whaley.

Raymond Academy for Engineering in the Aldine Independent School District was recently honored by the Magnet Schools of America at the 20th International Conference on Magnet Schools.

The school won the prestigious Ronald P. Simpson Distinguished Merit Award, given annually to the most outstanding magnet school in America.

Presented in memory of Dr. Ronald P. Simpson, this award was established to commemorate the positive impact that Dr. Simpson made on magnet schools in the United States, accepting the award for Raymond Academy were Principal Linda L. Miller, Assistant Principal Tern Clemmons, Science Specialist Martha Borrowman and Engineering Lab Teacher Shirley Willingham.

The school was also honored with a Magnet School of Excellence Award. This award is designed to promote excellence in magnet schools.

Raymond Academy received recognition for its innovative elementary engineering curriculum and its strong commitment to providing a quality education for all students.

Completing its awards sweep, Raymond Academy also received the Phale D. Hale Triple A Magnet Schools Award, This tribute is presented annually to magnet schools that exhibit the highest quality educational program while focusing on articulation, attraction, and achievement through their program design.

More information on Raymond Academy can be found at http://www.aldine.k12.tx.us/default.cfm on the Internet. More information on Magnet Schools of America can be found at http://www.magnet.edu.