Aldine senior staff receives service awards

Some 50 members of the Aldine Serior High faculty, administration and staff received service awards for a combined 655 years of service to students in the Aldine community.

Librarian Doris Fox and English teacher Gerald Wesbrook, who retired at midyear, led the way with 35 years of service each. Assistant principal Jim Harrell, who retired at the end of the 2001-02 school year, received a pin for 30 years in the district.

English teacher Charlsie Neathery, custodian Earl Powell, speech/debate instructor Eloise Weisinger and social studies teacher/student council sponsor Eizabeth Wolf were each honored for 25 years of service.

Noted for 20 years of service in the district were assistant principal Robert Farrar; custodian Madie Harrison; custodian Jessies Miles, who also retired after this school year; math teacher Andrew Rice; social studies teacher James Scott; paraprofessional/nurse’s aide Evelyn Stone; math teacher Karen Swinke; Aurora Tamayo; math teacher/head baseball coach Dennis Theaker; and counselor’s secretary Saundra Ford, who retired after the first semester.

Fifteen-year recipients include science instructor Cynthia Perdue, vocational intstructor Maxine Osborne, shop teacher Jesse Davila and athletics coach Leornard Baker.

Those receiving 10-year pins were math teacher Ronald VanRaemdonck, computer coordinator Micheal Underwood, head basketball coach James Moore, athletic coach Curtis Johnson, paraprofessional Diana Guerrero, business secretary Teri Cole, Norma Brunt, Elton Blake, special education instructor John Best and woodshop teacher Charles Beck.

Teachers receiving five-year pins included English teacher David Woods, school nurse Mabel Wiley, Dianne Slaughter, Yolanda Rangel, Zana Pogue, Kim Phuong Nguyen, Bart Miller, Jacquline Holmes, assistant principal Kenneth Hodgkinson, French teacher Wendy Harris, Valeria Gray, Sandra Dailey, special education instructor Michele Carter, Joanne Cantu, Monica Caldwell, Katherine Caballero, Robert Bennett and Angela Allen.